Wild in the bush

I’ve been wanting to put down the small notes I took in our trip to South Africa last year.

It was a first for my husband and I, both to the country and the continent. Needless to say how fulfilling and breathtaking the whole experience was, I think that there’s a truth about all the stories that talk about the vibe that Africa spreads.
I don’t know why, but I somehow felt the call the continent sent way up to me. I was very insistant in going there, nowhere else but Africa, solely Africa.

Now I know why.

It was a one-of-a-kind, an unforgettable 16-day, fly-drive trip, divided into 2 parts:

1. Safari and wild life from Dullstroom-Timbavati down to Durban

2. Urban, coastal life around Cape Town and Western Cape Area

I leave the rest to my small notes and some pics from the trip. I wrote on a daily basis, and will do so to give a better look and feel.

Enjoy the ride!

Day 1

First impressions: Jo’burg airport is full of loud locals, who call out to each other loudly, throwing big big laughters loudly. There’s a big loudness all around. The floors are covered with ‘loud’ colors, too. Bright green, red, blue, yellow. Loudly happy.

We rented our car, Toyota Avanza. Affordable with a big enough trunk for our 2 big cases. Heading to Dullstroom from the highway, N12. It’s totally flat all around, no hills or peaks.

First food: Steers in Total gas station. Rig burger combo meal. The meatball is like a very spicy sausage with garlic.

Reached Dullstroom in the evening. It’s green, still flat, and quiet.

Ended up in Dullstroom Inn for dinner. This is a ‘sympa’ pub as the French would say. The food is mainly around fish, especially trout since Dullstroom is famous for trout fishing. Had liver with peri peri sauce. Hot, spicy and delicious. Ordered hot smoked trout and shot a pic for friends. Smoked trout is to die for! Salty, fatty and warm.

On our way back to the hotel we saw an impala in between the streets. So cute, and timid. Hid in the bush right away.

At night we lit the wood in the fireplace. Great fire, great smell. Heaven.

TBC

One thought

Bir Cevap Yazın

